Cultivating Daily into Family: “how a 6th birth is a new experience” or “are we grateful each time?” Exciting news!!!

20120319-145447.jpg

Because we both have six kids, we get asked this one question a lot. It is always meant as a joke, and honestly I never get tired of being asked. Maybe it’s because I never get tired of the subject of the question, but that’s more of a Valentine’s post. Today’s post is for some breaking news celebrated from a grateful heart.

Oh yeah, the question we get asked because we both have six kids? Here you go – “You know how that happens right?”

And the antecedent of “both?” My brother Erik and I both have six kids, although my sixth isn’t due for face to face arrival until early August sometime.

And the exciting news?!? Erik and Erin’s sixth little gift arrived this morning!!!!!!!!!!

Emery Elaine Dukes comes into a family of five brothers. She will likely alternate thinking about them as a bunch of Knights in Shining Armor and a bunch over-protective, insensitive, annoyances. I am biased since they are my nephews, but I bet they will be the former much, much more than the latter. What is for sure is that the atmosphere of their home just got pinker and purpler and prettier. :)

And the picture that my wife sent me of Erik holding his brand new daughter was so breath-taking.

It was Erin’s sixth child born, and Jen got to be there this time for the first time. It was Erik’s sixth child born, but it was his first girl. And as a little brother, I don’t get to experience many things first before my wonderful big brother, but I have already held three daughters and look forward with excitement, Lord willing, to holding a fourth this summer. Erik got a whole new experience this morning holding a child that belonged to him that was not of the male persuasion. And it was breath-taking to behold knowing what was racing through his mind and heart.

It was exciting news! And we all are so grateful, celebrating each birth as though it actually is a gift from God that we in no way deserve.

Thank you Lord.

So cool that my dad has eleven grandchildren and one more on the way.

-jason

Don’t you see that children are God’s best gift, the fruit of the womb his generous legacy?
(Psalm 127:3 MSG)

Leave a Reply

