Here’s a challenging yet encouraging quote for all those married out there…

20120809-152853.jpg

Yesterday, Jen and I celebrated 14 years married. We had a special afternoon and evening together. Earlier in the week, we wondered if we would be celebrating in the hospital grateful for the birth of our newest little one. She has not arrived yet :-)

I am so grateful for the loving, beautiful wife and friend and lover and teammate she is with me.

A couple of weeks ago I ran across this quote from “The Skin of Our Teeth” by Thornton Wilder. Challenging and encouraging, reminding us that love is a choice, a vow is a promise, difficult does not equal bad, and the risk of steadfast relationship is worth it.

“I didn’t marry you because you were perfect. I didn’t even marry you because I loved you. I married you because you gave me a promise. That promise made up for your faults. And the promise I gave you made up for mine. Two imperfect people got married and it was the promise that made the marriage. And when our children were growing up, it wasn’t a house that protected them; and it wasn’t our love that protected them – it was that promise.”
~Thornton Wilder, from “The Skin of Our Teeth”

Thoughts???

One thought on “Here’s a challenging yet encouraging quote for all those married out there…

  1. Mr. Wilder’s quote reflects the sometimes gritty reality of marriage, I envy what you say you and your wife have!

Leave a Reply

