jasoncdukes:

Here is a great post from Randy Woodbury on his blog about what it was like to be a visitor to Sunday worship gatherings for the first time in his life. Many of us who serve as leaders or might be called to a new church family to pastor don’t get to experience this much. Some of us may have been part of a church family for a long time and never really thought about the visitor perspective much. May this post help us all to be more sensitive and more hospitable to first time guests in our Sunday worship gatherings. :-)

Thanks Randy for sharing…

Originally posted on Randy Woodbury:

For the duration of my life on this Earth thus far (37 years), I have been involved with only two churches.  For the first 18 years of my existence, I was involved with the church of my parents in Waterloo, IA.  The church where I was born, raised, put my faith in Christ’s loving sacrifice as payment for my sins, was baptized by immersion…and then I headed off to college.  While in college, I joined a fellowship of believers in Ames, IA that had been part of my siblings’ lives, and enjoyed 19 years of ministry there, dedicated my life to Christ, found a wife, started a family, became a leader, saved a marriage and learned a thousand different things (likely a blog post for another time).  However, in each church situation, I had never truly been a visitor – I had pre-existing relationships that drew me to those churches. …

View original 1,201 more words

One thought on “

  1. I think it’s easy for churches to focus on being hospitable to the unbelievers, but sometimes they regard visitors who are already growing Christians with suspicion. It’s good to remember that not all growing Christians new to your church are there to “take over” nor have all of them left their old church on bad terms. Sometimes they just moved and want to serve at a new church and be in good community for the purpose of advancing the gospel. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

