a date with my wife

there are certain things that i look forward to with both fanatical excitement and awesome reverence. there are certain things that touch me at the core of who i am and have the potential to change me and keep growing me forward. there are certain things that i cherish and think about for days after.

the first and foremost among these things is the chance to worship through song the One i follow daily, Jesus. And, there are certain people who lead in this time that mean the most to me – David Crowder Band, Watermark, Beyond Me, Ted Watson and the band. It’s not for the “experience” of it. I really don’t get a lot of butterflies in my stomach and “feel goods.” It’s more of a sobering time that both reminds me of whose I am and uplifts me to keep becoming who He made me to be. 

the third among these things is the chance to have one on one time with Caleb and Katey and Abby (and soon to be baby # 4). i so look forward to these times. whether it is watching the nascar race with Caleb, going to get some hot chocolate with Katey, or taking a walk outside with Abby, or who knows what with the next little blessing, i am refreshed and fueled by these times.

fourth among these things is watching March Madness (aka the Duke Invitational), especially Duke University. But nonetheless.

the second among these times and what the title of this blog is about is a date with my wife. seriously, you can ask her. as we drive out of our neighborhood to go on a date, i can’t get rid of this giddy smile and this child-like excitement. i just love having one on one time with her. eating, walking, shopping, movies, whatever. i don’t care. i just like the girl. and i like being with her.

so, that’s why i need to leave you now. we are about to head out on a date in about 15 minutes. write you next time…

Leave a Reply

