the Coke Zero 400

It was 3:30am. Technically earlier today, 20 hours ago. An awesome day with my son, fast cars on an infamous track, and slow cars in monotonous traffic, and I was now beside my wife in bed. We got in bed at 3am, shortly after Caleb and I got dropped off my friend Chris and his son Cole (Caleb’s friend) and arrived home from the Coke Zero 400 at the Daytona International Speedway. 30 minutes later, and we were talking about NASCAR. 

We were talking about a very exciting race that my wife, Jen, watched on TV while her boys were trackside about 90 miles away. Jeff Gordon, my son’s favorite, had raced well and led much of the latter part of the race only to spin off the track with a lap to go. The current NASCAR villain would roll on to win, again, for the 6th time this year. Gordon, who had raced an amazing race with a very fast car and had made very strategic choices (that’s right, more than just going fast there’s physics and mechanics and coaching involved in this very popular sport) came up oh so short. Caleb and I were disappointed. Jen and I were now talking about what made Gordon go high when he had stayed low all night, what he was trying to do when he spun out, how frustrated we were that the most-likely-one-day-to-be-legendary-in-NASCAR Kyle Busch who is currently a very I’m-good-and-I-know-it Kyle Busch won yet another race. 

We were talking about the race…the strategy…color commentary and all…at 3:30am…for 30 minutes in bed…like expert NASCAR fans. 

Great pillow talk. Jen and I passionately sharing our review. Both intensely involved. And we laughed. If you told us 2 years ago we would be fanatics for a sport that involves turning left constantly (except for 2 races per year), we would have laughed really, really, really, really, really hard. But here we are. That’s what loving your 6 year old son (who was 5 when he fell in love with the sport) and what falling in love with a very unique and fan-friendly sport will do. 

Needless to say, we have gotten swept away in the NASCAR bandwagon. You should, too.

In order to possibly convince you to give it a try AND to just share with you the joy Caleb and I and Chris and Cole and about 200,000 other fans had, here are some really cool pictures that I think you will like…

Leave a Reply

