the bottom line on “love does not envy and does not boast”

If you missed it, you can go back and read the posts from Tuesday and Thursday this week to arrive to this point. Either way, here’s THE BOTTOM LINE from this past week’s teaching time in our SUMMER LOVE series (1st Corinthians 13) about “love does not envy and does not boast.”

THE BOTTOM LINE:

12 Don’t be so naive and self-confident. You’re not exempt. You could fall flat on your face as easily as anyone else. Forget about self-confidence; it’s useless. Cultivate God-confidence.” [Paul, 1st Corinthians 10:12, the Message]

Being envious and boastful almost always is an indication of insecurity. I envy because I feel I lack something, so with zeal I set out to take it. I boast because I feel I am not being praised enough for something, so I talk all the louder about myself hoping you will join in, too.

All this thought and talk about ME disables love. I will not show love when I am envious and boastful. If I am so consumed with what I don’t have, becoming zealous to take it, then how would I ever be mindful to give into the life of the one from whom I wish to take? And, if I am so caught up in telling someone about all that I have done, how could I ever be concerned about their story and seeing life abundant in them?

Furthermore, when I do not trust what the One who made me feels about me and says about me and has clearly demonstrated for me, then I am bound to look for security in my own feelings and words and accomplishments. Thus, I will not only experience His love, I will also not give it. At that point, I break, my relationships break, and life breaks.

May we trust the love of a jealous God and boast only in His demonstrated love for us. And may we get zealous for others to know the love of that jealous God and boast of His mighty power to save and hold us secure for life now and forever.

PRAY_Lord, please help me to live as though you think I am worth dying for. I am secure in you. Please transform my insecurities into security in You alone.

LIVE_boast about the jealous, everlasting, gracious, mysterious, compelling, life-changing love of our near God.

__________________

Hope to see you tomorrow morning as we continue in the SUMMER LOVE series – “love is not arrogant and does not act unbecomingly.”

Love y’all!

-jason

Leave a Reply

