the top 10 greatest moments of my life…

I am sure the list will be revised if, as my mom used to say, I don’t “pass on over to glory” soon. But over the course of my almost 36 years so far, yesterday was one of the top 5 moments of my life. Well, I better say top 10, cause when you have 5 kids, you get a quick top 5 automatically. Regardless, one of the greatest moments came yesterday, when along with my father who baptized me 30 years ago, I was blessed to baptize my son.

The evidence of the fruit of the Spirit of Christ has been in Caleb’s life for a few years now. Like all of us with skin on, he is not nor never will be fully escaped from the hauntings of selfishness until the day that the Selfless One shows Himself as Lion rather than Lamb. The moment captured in the image below Caleb will remember for all time, possibly beyond time, as well. And I am eternally grateful to have been a part of it.

In case you were wondering what all moments in life so far have made the top 10, here’s a list in bullet form because there is not necessarily a greather-than order. As a disclaimer, the list may change by the end of the day. His mercies being new every morning and all. But for what it’s worth:

  • when my dad baptized me in March 1981.
  • when i got the letter from Union University bearing news of a full scholarship.
  • when, on a mission trip together in Memphis, TN, i overheard Jennifer Albert whispering to her dad on the phone that she thought i was the one (i don’t think she knew that i heard her).
  • when she actually sealed the deal and said “I do” on Aug 8th, 1998.
  • when we held Caleb for the 1st time on Sept 20th, 2001, along with Katey (Aug 8th, 2004), Abby (Nov 4th, 2006), and Ella (Dec 13th, 2008).
  • when we found out that the little brother that Caleb had prayed for was on his way to arrive in Oct 2010.
  • when i became an uncle, now four times over, to 4 amazing nephews.
  • when WestpointChurch.org celebrated 5 years of existence on Feb 15th, 2009.
  • when i held an actuall copy of LIVE SENT in my hands in early Sept 2009, which i had dedicated to my mom who passed just one month before. I wish she could have seen it.
  • when, along with my dad, i was able to baptize my first-born, Caleb, just yesterday.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring. We’ll see. Thankful for the God who is love, in whom we can overcome, and in whom we have ultimate celebration. Life is both abundantly beautiful and abundantly difficult in Christ. But it is abundant. And we are thankful.

4 thoughts on “the top 10 greatest moments of my life…

  1. I LOVE number 3! : ) Of course they are all wonderful, but I too remember when Jen said you were “the one” back at church!
    Give all the kiddos a big smooch from me and tell Jen I love her!
    Great list and great picture! Congrats!

  2. JASON ALL I CAN SAY IS AMEN AMEN!!!!!!
    I AM PROUD OF YOU & YOUR FAMILY. YOU HAVE/HAD A GREAT DAD & MOM WHO I WILL NEVER FORGET.
    TELL BRO. JIMMY I SAID HELLO, & HE IS WELCOME TO MS. ANYTIME.

    LOVE ALL OF YOU.

Leave a Reply

