RANTING and RAVING: the series continues with a short video of contemporary poet @TaylorMali challenging us all to rant and rave with confidence and conviction.

Here’s a very pointed challenge from teacher, teacher-advocate, poet, and creative, concise, challenging expressionist Taylor Mali.

We should probably,like, believe in what we say we believe in enough to, like, speak of it with confidence and assertion, ya know? And don’t forget that loving one another includes speaking truth to one another, with kindness of course.

One thought on “RANTING and RAVING: the series continues with a short video of contemporary poet @TaylorMali challenging us all to rant and rave with confidence and conviction.

  1. Throughout the days of this trial, as I knelt beside my bed, Casey Anthony (as well as her family) came to mind as people for whom I should be praying. As a Christian, I understood that praying for Casey was the right thing but I also felt my reluctance to pray for someone I did not like. This is a reminder of my own human nature, and it rears its ugly head not just in prayer and reflection but in everyday service work. Do I want to give the petty thief a hand up but give the embezzler a smack down? Do I want to serve the prostitute but condemn the pimp? My point is that I recognize my own tendency to give of my time, talent, energy, and even prayers to those who pass some judgement criteria I have imposed. Sadly, I have lived much of my life in a way that if others used that very same judgement criteria, they would have a tendency not to give to me of their time, talent, energy, or even prayers. The ultimate judge is much more compassionate than I and for that I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

