RANTING & RAVING: so grateful for 13 yrs with my bride. Here’s some lists, quotes, & videos to encourage u along in marriage.

My wife and I celebrated 13 years married this past Monday. I meant to write and post this note the next day. Been one of those weeks catching up from being out the week before and busy with the now.

SO, without further adieu, and in celebration of 2 becoming 1, here are three sets of “twos” that I hope will encourage you in your own marriage (that’s if you’re married, of course).

First, two lists to inspire you in your marriage from FamilyLife:

Next, two quotes to consider as you grow in your marriage:

“It is not your love that sustains the marriage, but from now on, the marriage that sustains your love.”
~Bonhoeffer

 

“Human relationships easily become possessive. Our hearts so much desire to be loved that we are inclined to cling to the person who offers us love, affection, friendship, care, or support. Once we have seen or felt a hint of love, we want more of it. That explains why lovers so often bicker with each other. Lovers’ quarrels are quarrels between people who want more of each other than they are able or willing to give.

It is very hard for love not to become possessive because our hearts look for perfect love and no human being is capable of that. Only God can offer perfect love. Therefore, the art of loving includes the art of giving one another space. When we invade one another’s space and do not allow the other to be his or her own free person, we cause great suffering in our relationships. But when we give another space to move and share our gifts, true intimacy becomes possible.”
~Henri Nouwen

 Finally, two videos to encourage you in your marriage: 

An Andrew Peterson song called “Dancing in the Minefields.” The key line in this one – “that’s what the promise is for.” Enjoy.

And a Civil Wars song entitled “Poison and Wine” that highlights the diverse unity that comes between a husband and wife all the while confessing that “I don’t love you [like I should], but I always will [love you].” Gripping tune.

 

And there you go. A rant to challenge you to endure, because marriage is definitely hard but so very worth it. And a rave for my beautiful wife who has journeyed with me now these 13 years since she became my bride up many a tall hill and down into many a low valley, and yet she continued to look at me as though I am her man and she would go with me anywhere.

I love you, Jen.

Leave a Reply

