Cultivating Daily unto the Nations: will you love the nations with me on @TOMS “One Day without Shoes?”

I have done it now for two years. One day in April, I go without shoes. It is in hopes of someone asking me why and thus the opportunity to encourage them to do something about people in other parts of our world who do not have shoes.

Grant it, this is one of the best marketing ideas a company could have. It is a viral, grass-roots-driven, don’t-wear-shoes-so-people-will-buy-our-shoes-and-we-will-also-give-a-pair-away genius of an idea. And I understand that it does encourage people to buy a product, but it is a product from a company that is not perfect but is at least serious about providing a pair of shoes (and now eyeglasses, too) for people around the world who don’t have one.

Will you join me this year? 

April 10th. Don’t wear shoes.

Prepare your boss / teacher / place of business that you won’t be wearing shoes that day and tell them why. Encourage some other folks to do it with you. And don’t do it to get a pat on the back. Do it simply to encourage people to love the poor in a tangible way. It’s an easy thing to do that also raises our own awareness about how much we take for granted that we do have shoes.

Jesus mentioned something in Luke 3:11 I know is not easily lived and unfortunately is not often lived.

11 He replied to them, “The one who has two shirts must share with someone who has none, and the one who has food must do the same.”

May we think about how that might apply to what all is in our closet and pantry. In the meantime, may we go barefoot on for just on day.

And if you don’t own a pair of TOMS, I recommend them. I am wearing my fifth pair. But I won’t be on April 10th.

Will you join me?

CLICK HERE to read more about “One Day without Shoes.” And check out the trailer below for April 10th, 2012.

Looking forward to having to push the gas pedal in my car barefooted.
-jason

 

Leave a Reply

